One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 16 June 2011 showing the site of the Timeball Station after its collapse. Part of the ground floor remains visible. Photograph taken from Oxford Street Overbridge. Architect The 13 June 2011 earthquakes caused the collapse of the already damaged Lyttelton Timeball Station. After the 22 February ...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 16 June 2011 showing the partial demolition of the old Lyttelton Harbour Board Offices on the corner of Oxford Street and Norwich Quay. The photograph shows the temporary roof being constructed over the original ground floor of the building. At the time of the 22 February 2011 earthquake the build...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 15 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to the Anglican Church of The Most Holy Trinity in Winchester Street, Lyttelton. Photograph shows collapsed roof of the nave and north transept. Photograph taken from the north side of the church. Architect The collapse of the Church of the Most Holy Trinity ...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 30 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to graves in Lyttelton Roman Catholic and Dissenters (Public) Cemeteries in Reserve Terrace. Most of the headstones and grave surrounds in the photograph show damage. Looking east in the Dissenters (Public) section of the cemetery. The Lyttelton cemeteries a...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 15 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to the Presbyterian Church of St John in Winchester Street, Lyttelton. Photograph shows the collapsed roof and tower. The photograph is taken from the southern side of the church. Architect The destructive force of the 14 June 2011 earthquakes on buildings in...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 30 June 2011 showing signs warning of the danger posed by unstable headstones in Lyttelton Roman Catholic and Dissenters (Public) Cemeteries in Reserve Terrace. Several toppled headstones and collapsed grave surrounds are visible in the photograph. Looking east from the main gate. The Lyttelton c...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 30 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to a section of retaining wall in Sumner Road. Plastic sheeting installed to stabilise previous damage and protect from water erosion is visible to the right of the photograph. Also visible in the photograph is a boarded up broken window and temporary safety ...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 15 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to the Anglican Church of The Most Holy Trinity in Winchester Street, Lyttelton. Photograph shows collapsed roof of the nave and north transept. Photograph taken from the northwest corner of the church. Architect The collapse of the Church of the Most Holy Tr...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 15 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to the former Canterbury Hotel and adjoining row of shops on Oxford Street. This photograph was taken on Oxford Street and shows the collapsed façade of the row of shops behind safety fencing, the interior of the building is exposed. The design of many older...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 6 September 2011 showing the demolition of 2 Sumner Road, the former library and fire station. This building was a private residence at the time of its demolition. Photograph taken looking north on Oxford Street. Also visible in the photograph are the Lyttelton Information Centre, an entrance to ...
One landscape colour digital photograph taken on 15 June 2011 showing earthquake damage to the Presbyterian Church of St John in Winchester Street, Lyttelton. Photograph shows the collapsed roof and tower. The photograph is taken from the southeast corner of the church. Architect St John's Lyttelton was one of the oldest Presbyterian Churches in...
Christ Church Cathedral, Christchurch, with spire being rebuilt after the 1901 earthquake. Photographer unidentified. The nave, tower and spire of Christchurch Cathedral was completed in 1881. Work on completeing the rest of the building began in 1900. In 1902 the transcepts were finished and work started on the chancel and apse. An earthquake in 1901 cracked the upper part of the spire in two places. In this photograph which dates from late 1902/1903 (see scaffolding beyond the transcept indicating work on chancel) the upper part of the spire has been removed by Messrs Graham and Greig in preparation for replacing this section with a copper covered wooden structure. The Cathedral was completed in 1904. (Information from "Vision and Reality; Christchurch Cathedral in the Square," Colin Brown, Christchurch, 2000 and "A Dream of Spires," Ian Lochhead, Canterbury University Press, 1999, page 153.) Preparation for erecting the scaffolding was reported in the Christchurch Star 15 January 1902. The cross was replaced on the top of the new copper covered wooden section of the spire on 29 June 1903. Source of descriptive information - Notes on file print. Source of title - Title supplied by Library Quantity: 1 b&w original negative(s). Physical Description: Glass negative
Earthquake damage to the road from Cheviot to Port Robinson, 1901. Taken by an unidentified photographer. This is a copy of a photograph from `The Weekly Press', Nov 27, 1901 Note on back of file print reads: "Fissures on the road from Cheviot to Port Robinson. There is a creek on the right side of the road, and below the fissure the road has fallen towards it.....and is 2 1/2' below its proper level. The fissures are 2 1/2' deep" (Probably the caption from `The Weekly Press') Quantity: 1 b&w original negative(s).