A black and white historic photograph of John Anderson and his foreman, Mr A. Kirk, standing outside the foundry at the back of the Andersons' building, [ca. 1900].
A black and white historic photograph of the exterior of the Union Centre Building, T. Armstrong and Co, [ca. 1930].
A black and white historic photograph of the south end of the Lyttelton Times Building prior to its extension in 1902-3, viewed from Cathedral Square, [ca. 1885].
A black and white historic photograph of the south face of the Lyttelton Times Building following its extension in 1902-3, viewed from Cathedral Square, [1904].
Black-and-white photograph of a brick building, with staff and horse-drawn carriages from the Fire Brigade of Christchurch in the foreground. Photograph taken c1906.
A historic sketch of the Manchester Courts, seen from the corner of Manchester and Hereford Streets, [1905].
One print on paper of an artwork titled "There Came a Day" featuring the text "There came a day, the earth did say, I've had enough, of this fault's fray, so up it lift, a Christchurch rift, a seven point one, of rattle and tip, still here we are, too strong to split" in white and red ink on a black background.
One print on paper of an artwork titled "Build it on Jelly" featuring an image of a construction worker and steel beam in black ink standing on a molded jelly in orange ink, with the words "Build it on Jelly, By Order, Jelly City Council, Christchurch NZ".
Photographically reproduced postcard shows a semi-humorous illustration by J L Martin of the Provincial Government buildings in Christchurch, seen looking southeast from across the intersection of Durham and Armagh Streets, imagined as warped and twisting in the Murchison Earthquake of 1929. Speech bubbles come from the mouths of some small figures: "Women & children first", "Order please", "Oh for the wings of a dove", "Stop that jazzing up there", "Wheres my puff box". The title below the picture is: "The camera cannot lie". The artist J L Martin has handwritten a message on the verso. In 1928, this building was occupied by the Commissioner of Crown Lands, the Receiver of Land Revenue, the Registrar of Deeds, the Lands Transfer Office and the Lands & Survey Department (See Wises directory 1928, page 214) Other Titles - Christchurch, Christmas Inscriptions: Verso - centre - With kind remembrances / From yours sincerely / J L Martin Quantity: 1 Other printed ephemera item(s). Physical Description: Photograph on postcard, 88 x 137 mm. Provenance: Ms McLean was the granddaughter of Arthur John Wicks, the Chief Draughtsman, Head Office, New Zealand Lands & Survey Department. He had worked with Crown Lands in Blenheim before moving to Wellington in 1917. The artist J L Martin sent the card to Mr Wicks.
Caricature of Mayor Bob Parker dissolving into quakes; below the image is the name 'Christchurch' in very quavery letters. A second version shows Bob Parker without the shakes and without the name 'Christchurch'. Context - Opinion seems to be that Mayor Bob Parker has shown excellent leadership during the earthquakes and aftershocks in Christchurch. The earthquakes were on 4 September and 22 February. Two versions of this cartoon are available Quantity: 2 digital cartoon(s).
Caricature of Roger Sutton, the State Services Commissioner, who has been appointed chief executive of the Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority (CERA). Quantity: 1 digital cartoon(s).
The cartoon shows the word 'survivors' in very large print which fades out towards the end of the word. A second version is the same as the first but has the text 'Search called off' in the top left corner. A third version shows the word 'survivors' against a background of the ruined Christchurch Cathedral. Context - The moment when it was realized that no more people could have survived the Christchurch of 22 February 2011. To date there have been about 165 confirmed dead but there are more bodies still trapped in the rubble of collapsed buildings. Three versions of this cartoon are available Quantity: 3 digital cartoon(s).
Photographs of central Christchurch after the 2010-2012 earthquakes taken 25 February 2012 by Sean McMahon. Locations are chiefly Manchester, Saint Asaph, Cashel, Columbo and Lichfield Streets, and the Bridge of Remembrance. Images show fencing around areas closed to the public, damaged and collapsed commercial buildings, cleared sites, re-opened Cashel Street area with shops and a cafe. Source of title - Title supplied by Library Quantity: 34 digital photograph(s).
Text reads 'Parking wardens resume work in Christchurch'. A parking warden peers anxiously at a huge tanker named 'Bill's Septic Tank Services' which is apparently parked illegally. The driver of the tanker, who holds the nozzle of a pump attached to the tank, says 'Your move!' suggesting the threat of a sewage spill if the warden insists on compliance. Context - 'After a lengthy grace period following the devastating February 22 quake, Parking wardens were yesterday on the hunt for parking infringers in the city's non-metered time-restricted zones, loading zones, bus/tour coach stops and taxi stands, and on the likes of broken yellow lines.' The resumption of work by the parking wardens does suggest a return to normal in Christchurch. (NZHerald 30 May 2011) Colour and black and white versions available Quantity: 2 digital cartoon(s).
A black and white historic photograph of a group of cyclists lining up outside Warner's Hotel before a race leaving from the hotel, [May 1904].
Black-and-white photograph of the Regent Theatre (then known as the Royal Exchange Building) under construction. Photograph taken c1905.
Facsimile reproduction of a drawing of the Bank of New Zealand, from Mosley's 'Illustrated Guide to Christchurch and Neighbourhood', c. 1885.
A black and white historic photograph of the Clarendon Hotel, prior to its 1903 reconstruction, [1902].
A black and white historic photograph of the old BNZ Building, taken from Cathedral Square, 1929.
A black and white historic photograph of the intersection of Colombo and High Streets, with the Fishers' building visible on the left, [ca. 1884].
A black and white historic photograph of the interior of Warner's Hotel, near the front desk, [1907].
A black and white historic photograph of Warner's Hotel in Cathedral Square, taken in 1906.
A black and white historic photograph of Tuam Street, ca. 1884, with the Odeon Theatre on the right and White's Furnishing Warehouse visible in the distance.
A black and white historic photograph of the interior of the dining room of the Clarendon Hotel, with two waiters in the background, [1903].
A black and white historic photograph of the exterior Clarendon Hotel, designed by J.C. Maddison. The photograph was taken from the corner of Oxford Terrace and Worcester Street, [1903].
A black and white historic photograph of customers shopping in T. Armstrong and Co., [ca. 1930].
A black and white historic photograph of the reconstruction of Armstrong & Co., a major department store on the corner of Colombo and Armagh Streets, [ca. 1930].
A facsimile of an architectural drawing of St. Elmo's Courts. Architect: B. J. Ager
A black and white historic photograph of Father Christmas waving to crowds from a float outside Armstrong & Co., [ca. 1930].
One black Phillips brand bicycle with a large basket on the front, and a sign reading ‘Johnson's’ hanging from the frame. The front wheel is smaller than the back wheel.
